Online Film Dictionary


Hints & credits ] [ Home page ] [Deutsche Version] [ Versión en español ] [ Version française ] [ News ]

[Editorial]

[OFD Logo] Search for a specific term.
Browse one of the main categories, e.g. acting.
Welcome to the Online Film Dictionary. This dictionary shall help you to better understand all those movie-specific terms in foreign languages.
As thus it should also be a helping advice for the contributors of the Internet Movie Database (IMDb) in their need to translate movie credits into the english language.

Contributions for any language are highly welcome.

At the moment only parts of the languages contain a reasonable amount of terms. It is my hope that these and even new language sections will be filled soon with some help from you.

The dictionary currently supports the following languages: Albanian, Brazilian Portuguese, Croatian¹, Danish, Dutch, English, Finnish, French, German, Hungarian¹, Icelandic, Italian, Norwegian, Polish¹, Portuguese, Russian¹, Slovene¹, Serbian¹, Spanish, Swedish and Turkish¹.

 
This dictionary is by no means linguistically accurate. The translations and equivalents were compiled from many different sources and often can hardly or even cannot be validated though. Please take the contents of this dictionary as such, as a base for further discussion. The meaning of certain movie-specific terms changes fluently through time in several countries and there is often no exact definition available. A guarantee for the correctness of translations contained in this dictionary cannot be given at the moment. Should you however realize faults or inaccuracies, please feel free to let me know about your point of view.

There is another issue to be aware of: User submissions to this dictionary are being made against English or German as a reference language. The level of inaccuracy might increase if you are interested in comparing other languages only. E.g. you might be interested in French-Hungarian translations. If the French terms were submitted against the English reference terms and the Hungarian terms were submitted against the German reference terms, chances are that a shift in meaning has found its way into the translations - especially if you are interested in very specific terms which are not common knowledge.


[Top]

Online Film Dictionary (c) 1996/2005 Oliver Heidelbach <ohei@snafu>
The contents of this dictionary may not be reproduced in any form, should it be electronically or otherwise, without the explicit permission from the author.
snafu.de is not responsible for the contents of this page.
[Mon May 30 08:07:46 2005]

Online Film Wörterbuch


Tips & Credits ] [ Homepage ] [ English edition ] [ Versión en español ] [ Version française ] [ News ]

[Hinweise]

[OFW Logo] Suche nach einem einzelnen Begriff.

Übersicht nach Kategorien, z.B. Schauspiel (acting).
Willkommen beim Online Film Wörterbuch, der Referenz für fremdsprachige Fachtermini aus der Filmwelt. Ziel dieses Wörterbuches ist es, seinen Nutzern einen Überblick über die gebräuchlichsten filmspezifischen Begriffe in anderen Sprachen zu bieten.
Als solches soll das Wörterbuch vorallem auch Nutzern der Internet Movie Database (IMDb) eine Hilfestellung bieten, Begriffe aus Filmabspännen anderer Sprachen ins Englische zu übersetzen.

Ergänzungen für jedwede Sprache sind höchst willkommen.

Momentan sieht es in einigen Bereichen noch recht dürftig aus. Ich hoffe, daß diese sowie neue Teile sich bald mit Hilfe der Nutzer/innen füllen werden.

Das Wörterbuch bietet zur Zeit folgende Sprachen:
Albanisch, Brasilianisches Portugiesisch, Dänisch, Deutsch, Englisch, Finnisch, Französisch, Isländisch, Italienisch, Kroatisch¹, Niederländisch, Norwegisch, Polnisch¹, Portugiesisch, Russisch¹, Schwedisch, Serbisch¹, Slowenisch¹, Spanisch, Ungarisch¹ und Türkisch¹.

 
Dieses Wörterbuch ist nicht sprachwissenschaftlich recherchiert. Die Übersetzungen bzw. oft auch nur Entsprechungen sind aus aus vielen verschiedenen Quellen zusammengetragen worden und können vielfach nur schwer oder gar nicht überprüft werden. Der Inhalt sollte durchaus als Anhaltspunkt zur weiteren Diskussion herangezogen werden, eine Garantie für die Richtigkeit der Übersetzungen kann jedoch bis auf weiteres nicht abgegeben werden. Sollten Ihnen Fehler oder Ungenauigkeiten auffallen, schreiben Sie mir bitte Ihre Meinung.

Die Nutzerergänzungen in diesem Wörterbuch werden auf Grundlage der englischen oder deutschen Referenzbegriffe erstellt. Der Grad der Ungenauigkeit der Übersetzungen kann deshalb ansteigen, wenn Sie an einem ausschließlichen Vergleich anderer Sprachen interessiert sind. Vielleicht sind Sie an französisch-ungarischen Übersetzungen interessiert. Wenn nun für die französischen Begriffe Deutsch als Referenzsprache und für die ungarischen Begriffe Englisch als Referenzsprache gewählt wurde, erhöhen sich die Chancen für Ungenauigkeiten - insbesondere wenn Sie an sehr speziellen Begriffen interessiert sind, die nicht zum Allgemeinwissen gehören.


[Nach oben]

Online Film Wörterbuch (c) 1996/2005 Oliver Heidelbach <ohei@snafu>
Jede Vervielfältigung der Inhalte dieses Wörterbuchs, gleich ob in elektronischer oder anderer Form, bedarf der schriftlichen Genehmigung des Herausgebers.
snafu.de ist nicht für den Inhalt dieser Seite verantwortlich.
[Mon May 30 08:05:27 2005]